None of the 18 Clearwater Beach and Sand Key hotels we checked lists a lazy river, a water slide or an adults-only pool on its own site. Eleven call their pool heated, including the Hyatt Regency's 8th-floor pool and the JW Marriott's 11th-floor rooftop pool. For toddlers, Sandpearl and Opal Sands have zero-entry pools and the Sand Key Marriott has a kids' splash pool. Eight sell day passes on ResortPass.
Key takeaways
- None of the 18 lists a lazy river or slide. For those, Pier House 60 and the Edge Hotel put two Splash Harbour Water Park tickets (Indian Rocks Beach) in their amenity fees, and the Chart House Marina Hotel includes two with every stay.
- No hotel here advertises an adults-only pool. The JW Marriott sells adults-only daybeds by its rooftop pool, and SpringHill Suites, the Courtyard and the AC Hotel sell day passes only to adults 21 and over.
- 11 of 18 hotels say "heated." None publishes a water temperature. Only the Hyatt Regency says its pool is heated for year-round swimming.
- The Gulf averages about 63°F in January and 66°F in February on our Clearwater Beach water temperature page, so in winter a heated pool is the realistic swim.
- The Wyndham Grand's pool and pool deck are closed for renovation from November 1, 2026, to January 1, 2027.
- Eight of these hotels sell non-guest day passes on ResortPass (as of October 2026). Sandpearl, Opal Sands and Opal Sol keep their pools for registered guests.
Which Clearwater Beach hotels have which pool features?
Eighteen hotels on Clearwater Beach and Sand Key, north to south. Each cell is what the hotel says about itself on its own website or its brand's site (marriott.com, hilton.com and so on) as of October 2026. The day-pass column and the few cells marked "day-pass listing" come from the hotels' ResortPass listings instead. "Not stated" means the hotel doesn't say either way, not that the feature is missing, so ask the front desk if it matters to you.
| Hotel (address) | Heated? | Lazy river or slide | Kids: zero-entry, kids' pool, splash | Adults-only | Rooftop or upper floor | View from the pool | Non-guest day pass | Winter (Dec to Mar) | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandpearl Resort (500 Mandalay Ave.) | Not stated | None listed | Zero-entry lagoon-style pool | None listed | No | Between the hotel and the beach | No, guests only | Ask: heat not stated | Sandpearl FAQ, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa (400 Mandalay Ave.) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | None listed | Not stated | Not stated | None listed | Heated pool | hilton.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Palm Pavilion Inn (18 Bay Esplanade) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | None listed | No (rooftop terrace has seating, not a pool) | Not stated | None listed | Heated pool | palmpavilioninn.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach (100 Coronado Dr.) | "Seasonally heated" (its day-pass listing) | None listed | Not stated | None listed | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Closed Nov 1 to Jan 1 | wyndhamhotels.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Pier House 60 (101 Coronado Dr.) | Yes | None on site (Splash Harbour tickets included) | Not stated | None listed | No (rooftop bar, not a pool) | Marina | None listed | Heated pool | pierhouse60.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| SpringHill Suites Clearwater Beach (309 Coronado Dr.) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | Day guests 21+ only | Not stated | Bay (per its day-pass listing) | Yes, 21+ | Heated pool | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| AC Hotel Clearwater Beach (395 Coronado Dr.) | Not stated | None listed | Not stated | Day guests 21+ only | Rooftop pool and bar | Ocean view (per its day-pass listing) | Yes, 21+ | Ask: heat not stated | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Opal Sol Resort (400 Coronado Dr.) | Not stated | None listed | Not stated (guests can use Opal Sands' zero-entry pool via skybridge) | None listed (spa-side pool called "quieter") | Not stated | Two Gulf-facing pools; spa pool faces the Intracoastal | No, guests only | Ask: heat not stated | Opal Sol FAQ, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Courtyard by Marriott Clearwater Beach (455 East Shore Dr.) | Not stated | None listed | Not stated | Day guests 21+ only | Rooftop pool | Not stated | Yes, 21+ | Ask: heat not stated | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach (301 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Yes, "year-round" | None listed | Kids' pool (8th floor) | None listed | 8th floor | Gulf | Yes | Heated pool | hyatt.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Opal Sands Resort (430 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Not stated | None listed | Zero-entry pool | None listed | No | Gulf (pool is cantilevered over the Gulf) | No, guests only | Ask: heat not stated | Opal Sands FAQ, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Edge Hotel Clearwater Beach (505 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Not stated | None on site (Splash Harbour passes included) | Not stated | None listed | Not stated | Gulf (glass-wall pool) | None listed | Ask: heat not stated | edgehotelclearwaterbeach.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Holiday Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach (521 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Yes | None listed | IHG lists the pool type as "Children's Pool" | None listed | Not stated | Oceanside | None listed | Heated pool | ihg.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Shephard's Beach Resort (619 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Yes | None listed | Not stated (no kids under 14 in the hot tub) | None listed | No | Terrace facing the Tiki Bar and beach | No (poolside cabana rental only) | Heated pool, 11 a.m. to sunset | shephards.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach (635 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | None listed | No | Beachfront | None listed | Heated pool | hilton.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| JW Marriott Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa (691 S. Gulfview Blvd.) | Yes | None listed | Not stated | Adults-only daybeds (day-pass listing) | 11th-floor rooftop | Gulf | Yes | Heated pool | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Sand Key Sheraton (1160 Gulf Blvd.) | Yes | None listed | Children's pool | None listed | No | Beachfront | Yes | Heated pool | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
| Sand Key Marriott (1201 Gulf Blvd.) | Yes | None listed (rock waterfall) | Kids' splash pool | None listed | No | Clearwater Bay, not the Gulf | Yes | Heated pool | marriott.com, Oct 5, 2026 |
Day-pass status comes from ResortPass, the booking site these eight hotels use, as of October 4, 2026. Prices are left out on purpose because they change by date. Our resort day pass guide has current prices, what each pass includes and parking.
Method: On October 4 and 5, 2026, we read each hotel's own amenity, FAQ and policy pages: the Opal Collection pages for Sandpearl, Opal Sands and Opal Sol, the independent hotels' own sites, and the brand pages on marriott.com, hyatt.com, hilton.com and ihg.com, including the pool detail panels that list hours and "Heated." We recorded only what each hotel states, kept the exact wording, and marked everything else "Not stated." "Heated" means the hotel uses that word; no hotel publishes a target water temperature. Day-pass yes/no comes from the hotels' ResortPass listings, saved for our day-pass guide on October 4, 2026. Winter Gulf temperatures are the monthly averages on our water temperature page, unchanged. Limits: a hotel can have a feature it doesn't mention online, and amenities change. We didn't visit, swim in or call any of these pools, and no hotel or booking site pays us.
Wyndham's brand site says the Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach's pool and pool deck will be closed for renovations from November 1, 2026, to January 1, 2027. The hotel's own site says the work starts in early November and runs through early January 2027. If the pool matters for a stay in that window, book elsewhere or confirm the reopening date with the hotel.
Does any Clearwater Beach hotel have a lazy river or water slide?
No. None of the 18 hotels lists a lazy river or a water slide on its own website. The closest thing is at the Sand Key Marriott, which describes "an outdoor pool featuring a cascading rock waterfall" plus a kids' splash pool. Fun, but not a slide.
If the kids want a lazy river, you need a water park. Pier House 60 says Splash Harbour Water Park in Indian Rocks Beach is 6 miles from the hotel and has two 42-foot waterslides, a lazy river and a splash pad. Pier House 60 and the Edge Hotel both include two Splash Harbour tickets in their amenity fees, and the Chart House Marina Hotel includes two with every stay. Our water parks near Clearwater Beach guide compares Splash Harbour with the other options.
Is there an adults-only pool or hotel on Clearwater Beach?
Not that any hotel advertises. None of the 18 hotels' own sites lists an adults-only pool, an adults-only floor or an adults-only property. You may read elsewhere that Sandpearl has a separate adults-only pool. Sandpearl's own FAQ describes a single "lagoon-style zero-entry pool" and no adults-only area.
The nearest things to it, going by what the hotels say:
- JW Marriott (691 S. Gulfview Blvd.): its ResortPass listing sells a shaded daybed "steps from the pool and hot tub, adults only." That's a reserved adults-only daybed. The 11th-floor rooftop pool itself isn't adults-only.
- Opal Sol (400 Coronado Dr.): besides two Gulf-facing pools, the resort has a pool and hot tub beside the Opal Spa overlooking the Intracoastal, which it calls "quieter." It's guests only, but not age-restricted.
- SpringHill Suites, Courtyard and AC Hotel: day-pass buyers must be 21 or older, which keeps outside families off the deck. The Courtyard's listing notes that children are allowed as hotel guests.
- Shephard's (619 S. Gulfview Blvd.): the hotel's pool-view rooms face the Tiki Bar, band stage and beach, so expect music rather than quiet. Its rules say no children under 14 in the hot tub. On weekends, holidays, special-event and high-occupancy days, anyone under 21 can't use the Tiki deck or beach area unless they're a resort guest.
For a couples trip built around quiet rather than a pool rule, our Clearwater Beach for couples guide covers where to stay and eat.
Will the pool be warm enough in winter?
If the hotel heats it, probably. The Gulf won't be, for most people: our water temperature page puts the Gulf at about 63°F in January, 66°F in February and 67°F in December, and calls December through February "too cold for most." March warms to about 72°F. Here's how the cooler months line up with the hotels' heated-pool claims.
| Month | Average Gulf water (our water temperature page) | What that page says | Hotel pools that say "heated" |
|---|---|---|---|
| November | ~73°F | Comfortable for most through mid-November; "the hardy" by late November | 11 (Wyndham Grand closed) |
| December | ~67°F | Too cold for most | 11 (Wyndham Grand closed) |
| January | ~63°F | Too cold for most | 11, plus the Wyndham Grand ("seasonally heated") once it reopens |
| February | ~66°F | Too cold for most | 11, plus the Wyndham Grand |
| March | ~72°F | Comfortable for the hardy | 11, plus the Wyndham Grand |
| April | ~77°F | Comfortable for most | 11, plus the Wyndham Grand |
Two cautions. "Heated" isn't a temperature. None of these hotels publishes one, and only the Hyatt Regency goes further, saying its 8th-floor pool is heated so you can enjoy the views "comfortably year-round." The hotels also don't say how they run their heaters in winter. Before a January booking, ask what temperature the pool is kept at and whether the heater runs all day. Six hotels in the matrix, including Sandpearl and Opal Sands, don't say whether their pools are heated at all.
For everything else about a cool-season trip, see our Clearwater Beach in winter guide.
"Is the pool heated?" gets a yes. "What temperature is the pool right now?" gets a number. Ask about the hot tub too. The JW Marriott, the Sand Key Sheraton and the Sand Key Marriott list a whirlpool, Opal Sol has two hot tubs, and on a 63°F-water day that may be the warmest seat on the property.
Which pools work best for toddlers and young kids?
Look for a zero-entry (beach-style) slope or a separate shallow pool. From the hotels' own descriptions:
- Zero-entry: Sandpearl's "lagoon-style zero-entry pool" and Opal Sands' zero-entry pool, which Opal describes as having "a gently sloping entrance." Opal Sol guests can walk over to it on the skybridge. Neither hotel says the pool is heated.
- Kids' splash pool: the Sand Key Marriott's, open 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. per Marriott, alongside its heated main pool with the rock waterfall. That pool overlooks Clearwater Bay, not the Gulf.
- Separate children's pool: the Hyatt Regency (on the same 8th floor as its heated main pool) and the Sand Key Sheraton (an "Outdoor Children's Pool" next to its heated beachfront pool).
- Maybe: the Holiday Inn & Suites. IHG tags its heated oceanside pool with "Pool type: Children's Pool" but doesn't say whether that's a separate pool, so ask.
For a winter trip with a toddler, the Hyatt Regency, Sand Key Sheraton and Sand Key Marriott pair a kids' pool with a main pool the hotel calls heated. None says whether the kids' pool itself is heated, so ask. Our Clearwater Beach with a toddler guide covers the beach side: shade, nap timing and gear. In summer, plan pool time around afternoon thunderstorms; our page on summer storm timing shows when they usually hit.
Which hotels have rooftop or Gulf-view pools?
Four hotels list a rooftop or upper-floor pool:
- JW Marriott: heated 11th-floor rooftop pool deck with a whirlpool. Marriott promises "sweeping panoramic views" and rents cabanas looking out over the Gulf.
- Hyatt Regency: 8th-floor heated pool with views of Clearwater Beach and the Gulf, plus a kids' pool on the same floor.
- AC Hotel: a rooftop pool and bar on Coronado Drive. Heat not stated. Check the hours: as of October 2026, Marriott lists the "Rooftop Pool and Bar" as open Thursday to Saturday, 5 to 11 p.m., while the hotel's day-pass listing gives the pool as sunrise to sunset daily.
- Courtyard: a rooftop pool on East Shore Drive, on the bay side of the island. Heat not stated.
Don't confuse rooftop bars with rooftop pools. Pier House 60's Jimmy's Crow's Nest and the Edge Hotel's Jimmy's on the Edge are 10th-floor rooftop bars, and neither hotel puts its pool up there. For a pool right by the sand, Opal Sands' pool is "cantilevered over the gulf," and the Hampton Inn & Suites and the Sand Key Sheraton both call theirs beachfront. The Edge Hotel's glass-wall pool has 27 feet of glass on the Gulf side. Shephard's pool terrace sits below rooms that face its Tiki Bar, band stage and beach; our Shephard's Beach Resort review covers the music and crowd. If you're weighing a Sand Key resort pool against a hotel on the main strip, our Sand Key versus Clearwater Beach comparison covers walking distance and parking.
Can you use these pools if you're not staying there?
At eight of them, yes, with a ResortPass day pass (as of October 2026): the Wyndham Grand, Hyatt Regency, JW Marriott, Sand Key Sheraton, Sand Key Marriott, SpringHill Suites (21+), Courtyard (21+) and AC Hotel (21+). The Wyndham Grand's pool is closed for renovation from November 1, 2026, to January 1, 2027.
At three, no. Sandpearl's FAQ says its "pool and beach are private, for hotel guests only," and Opal Sands' and Opal Sol's policies limit pool access to registered guests. Shephard's requires a hotel guest wristband unless you rent a poolside cabana. We found no ResortPass listing for the rest, so ask those hotels directly. Prices live in our day pass price comparison.
Frequently asked questions
Do any Clearwater Beach hotels have a lazy river?
None of the 18 hotels we checked on Clearwater Beach and Sand Key lists a lazy river or water slide on its own website as of October 2026. Splash Harbour Water Park in Indian Rocks Beach has a lazy river and two 42-foot waterslides, and Pier House 60, the Edge Hotel and the Chart House Marina Hotel include tickets with a stay.
Is there an adults-only resort on Clearwater Beach?
Not among the 18 hotels we checked. None of their sites lists an adults-only pool, floor or property. The JW Marriott sells adults-only daybeds near its rooftop pool, and SpringHill Suites, the Courtyard and the AC Hotel sell day passes only to adults 21 and over.
Which Clearwater Beach hotels have a heated pool?
Eleven say so: the Hilton, Palm Pavilion Inn, Pier House 60, SpringHill Suites, Hyatt Regency, Holiday Inn & Suites, Shephard's, Hampton Inn & Suites, JW Marriott, Sand Key Sheraton and Sand Key Marriott. The Wyndham Grand's day-pass listing says "seasonally heated," but its pool is closed from November 1, 2026, to January 1, 2027. None publishes a water temperature.
Which hotel pool is best for a toddler?
For a gentle walk-in entry, Sandpearl and Opal Sands have zero-entry pools. For a separate shallow pool, the Sand Key Marriott has a kids' splash pool, and the Hyatt Regency and Sand Key Sheraton have children's pools alongside heated main pools.
Which Clearwater Beach hotels have a rooftop pool?
The JW Marriott (11th floor), the AC Hotel and the Courtyard list rooftop pools, and the Hyatt Regency's heated pool and kids' pool are on its 8th floor. Pier House 60 and the Edge Hotel have rooftop bars, not rooftop pools.
Can I swim in the Gulf in January instead?
Most people won't want to. Our water temperature page puts the Gulf at about 63°F in January and 66°F in February and calls December through February too cold for most swimmers. A heated hotel pool is the more comfortable choice.
Sources
- Sandpearl Resort, FAQ pages and Policies & Guidelines (zero-entry lagoon pool, guests-only pool and beach). opalcollection.com
- Opal Sands Resort, FAQ and Policies & Guidelines (zero-entry pool, guest-only access). opalcollection.com
- Opal Sol Resort, FAQ and Policies & Guidelines (two Gulf-facing pools, spa-side pool, guest-only access). opalcollection.com
- Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, Hotel Info (heated outdoor pool). hilton.com
- Hampton Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, Hotel Info (heated beachfront pool, hours). hilton.com
- Palm Pavilion Inn, Amenities (heated outdoor pool, rooftop terrace). palmpavilioninn.com
- Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach, brand overview (pool closure dates) and hotel site pool renovation page. wyndhamhotels.com, wyndhamgrandclearwater.com
- Pier House 60, Amenities (heated pool, rooftop bar, Splash Harbour tickets). pierhouse60.com
- SpringHill Suites, AC Hotel and Courtyard Clearwater Beach, Marriott experiences pages and pool panels (pool features and hours). SpringHill, AC Hotel, Courtyard
- Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort and Suites, hotel page (8th-floor heated pool and kids' pool). hyatt.com
- Edge Hotel Clearwater Beach, Amenities (glass-wall pool, lap pool, sundeck, rooftop bar, Splash Harbour passes). edgehotelclearwaterbeach.com
- Holiday Inn & Suites Clearwater Beach, Amenities (heated pool, "Children's Pool" pool type, hours). ihg.com
- Shephard's Beach Resort, home page and Soak Pool Bar page (heated pool, terrace, pool rules and hours). shephards.com
- JW Marriott Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa, Marriott experiences page (11th-floor heated rooftop pool deck, Level 11 whirlpool, cabanas). marriott.com
- Clearwater Beach Sheraton Resort on Sand Key, Marriott experiences page (heated beachfront pool, children's pool, whirlpool). marriott.com
- Clearwater Beach Marriott Resort & Suites on Sand Key, Marriott experiences page (heated bay-view pool, waterfall, kids' splash pool). marriott.com
- ResortPass hotel listings for Clearwater Beach (day-pass availability, JW Marriott adults-only daybed, Wyndham Grand "seasonally heated" pool, 21+ day-guest rules, AC Hotel pool view and hours), retrieved October 4, 2026.
- Monthly Gulf water temperatures: See Clearwater Beach, Clearwater Beach Water Temperature.
Still choosing a hotel?
Pick the pool feature that matters most, then compare location, price and fees in our hotel guides.
Browse Clearwater Beach hotels