Four operators run tiki boats from Clearwater Beach. Cruisin' Tikis is BYOB with six guests per boat: $49.95 for 90 minutes, or $299 for the whole boat. Go Tiki Tours ($59, two hours) is the only one that says it has a bathroom aboard. Clearwater Tiki includes an open bar but bans outside alcohol. Tiki Island Cruises is the cheap, all-ages pick at $24.50. Prices as of October 2026.
Key takeaways
- Three of the four leave from the Clearwater Beach Marina at 25 Causeway Blvd., about a 5-minute walk from Pier 60. Go Tiki Tours leaves from the Courtyard Clearwater Beach at 455 E. Shore Dr., about 7 to 8 minutes on foot.
- BYOB is the norm, but not everywhere. Clearwater Tiki forbids outside alcohol because drinks are included. Tiki Island Cruises allows one personal-size cooler and no glass bottles.
- Only Go Tiki Tours says its boat has a bathroom. Cruisin' Tikis and Clearwater Tiki say theirs don't. Tiki Island Cruises doesn't say.
- At Cruisin' Tikis, a group of six pays the same or less for a private boat than for six shared seats: $299 vs $299.70 by day, $399 vs $419.70 at sunset.
- Refund windows run from 72 hours (Go Tiki Tours) to 48 hours (Cruisin' Tikis, Clearwater Tiki) to none at all (Tiki Island Cruises, which only reschedules).
Which Clearwater tiki boat should you book?
Three questions settle it: do you want to bring your own drinks, how many of you are there, and does anyone need a bathroom on board? Our picks, based only on what each operator publishes:
| Your group | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Couple or friends, 2 to 6, BYOB | Cruisin' Tikis | Sails daily, with four or five daytime slots plus a sunset trip. Six guests max per boat. |
| Bachelorette or birthday, 7 to 13, one boat | Go Tiki Tours (private) | The only BYOB operator with a posted price for a group over six on one private boat (13 max, per its FAQ), and it says it has a bathroom. Groups over six hire and pay a captain separately. |
| Party that doesn't want to haul coolers | Clearwater Tiki | Drinks are included, and the boat takes up to 16 per booking. Everyone shows a driver's license at check-in, and only those 21 and up drink. |
| Family with kids under 6 | Tiki Island Cruises | All ages allowed, $19.50 for kids 12 and under. Cruisin' Tikis requires age 6 or older. |
| Sunset on a budget | Tiki Island Cruises | $24.50 adult on the evening departure, BYOB with no glass. |
| Longer day with a swim | Cruisin' Tikis 3-hour sandbar, or Go Tiki Tours | Cruisin' Tikis' private 3-hour trip hits two sandbars. Go Tiki Tours gives you two hours and a bathroom. |
How do the four tiki boat operators compare?
Every cell except the walking times comes from the operator's own website, FAQ or online booking page, read on October 5, 2026. When an operator's own pages disagree, both numbers are shown. These are the operators' claims; we haven't been aboard any of these boats.
| As of Oct 2026 | Cruisin' Tikis | Go Tiki Tours | Clearwater Tiki | Tiki Island Cruises |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Departure dock | Clearwater Beach Marina, 25 Causeway Blvd., slip 40 (behind the marina office) | Courtyard Clearwater Beach, 455 E. Shore Dr. | Clearwater Beach Marina, slip 8 (east docks) | Clearwater Beach Marina, slip 58; check in at booth #4 |
| Walk from Pier 60 | About 5 min (0.23 mi) | About 7 to 8 min (0.4 mi) | About 5 min (0.23 mi) | About 5 min (0.23 mi) |
| Shared seat, adult | $49.95 (90 min); $54.95 sandbar and swim (90 min); $69.95 sunset (2 hr) | $59 (2 hr), day or sunset | $45 day, $49 sunset (90 min each) on the booking page for Oct 17; its FAQ says from $39, sunset $69 | $24.50 (1.5 to 2 hr) |
| Child price | Same as adult | $49, 12 and under | $35 under 21 on the day tour; sunset sold to 21+ only | $19.50, 12 and under |
| Adult price per hour | $33.30 day; $34.98 sunset | $29.50 | $30 day; $32.67 sunset (drinks included) | $12.25 to $16.33 |
| Private boat | $299 (90 min), $399 (sunset, 2 hr), $595 (3 hr, two sandbars); up to 6 per boat | Same listed per-person rate; groups over 6 hire and pay a captain separately | Offered; call for a quote | Offered; call for a quote |
| Max passengers | 6 per boat; groups up to 24 split across boats | 6 on public tours; boat holds 13 (FAQ), private listing says up to 26 | Up to 16 per booking; homepage says 18 | Up to 36 other guests on a shared trip |
| Drinks | BYOB including alcohol; cooler and ice provided | BYOB; coolers with ice, water and chips provided | Open bar included; no outside alcohol | BYOB in one personal-size cooler; no glass; one free water or soda |
| Restroom aboard | No (restrooms at the dock; captain can stop at a bar or sandbar) | Yes, operator states | No (public restroom at the marina) | Not stated |
| Sandbar or swim stop | On the Sandbar and Swim and 3-hour trips | Sandbar stops for swimming | Not described | Barrier island stop, weather permitting |
| Minimum age | 6 (life jackets required under 10) | Not stated | Listing says 21+; day-tour booking also sells youth and child tickets | All ages |
| Cancellation | Full refund 48 hr ahead; no-shows forfeit | Full refund 72 hr ahead; same-day bookings final | Refund with 48 hr notice; no-shows forfeit | Non-refundable; reschedule with 24 hr notice |
| Weather call | Rain check, reschedule, or refund if you can't reschedule | Rain check or refund | Refund or rain check, your choice | Weather permitting, captain's call |
| October departures | Daily. Oct 12 to 31: 10:30 a.m., 12:15, 2:00, 3:45 p.m.; sunset 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. | Daily 11:30 a.m., 2:00, 4:30, 7:00 p.m. (7 p.m. is the sunset tour through October); 9 a.m. Fri to Sun | Thu to Mon only; 1:30 and 3:45 p.m.; sunset 6:00 p.m. | Most days. From Oct 14: noon, 3:00, 5:30 p.m. |
| Phone | 727-477-8454 | 727-377-0700 | 727-474-2535 | 727-462-2628 |
Schedules move with the daylight. In November the Cruisin' Tikis sunset trip shifts to 4:30 to 6:30 p.m., Clearwater Tiki's to 4:45 p.m. and Tiki Island Cruises' last trip to 4:30 p.m.; Go Tiki Tours moves its sunset tour to 4:30 p.m. from November through February. Mid-October sunset is just after 7 p.m. (see our Clearwater Beach sunset times by month), so a 5:30 p.m. departure is on the water when the sun goes down.
We read each operator's own pages on October 5, 2026: Cruisin' Tikis Clearwater (home page FAQ and cruise list), Go Tiki Tours (Clearwater page and FAQs), Clearwater Tiki (home page FAQ) and Starlite Cruises' Tiki Getaway BYOB page. Prices and ticket types for Cruisin' Tikis, Clearwater Tiki and Tiki Island Cruises were read off each operator's online booking page for sample dates (Wednesday, October 14; Saturday, October 17; Saturday, November 14, 2026). Departure times come from the same booking systems' public calendars for October 5 to November 30, 2026, and Go Tiki Tours' from its posted schedule. Go Tiki Tours' prices are from its website, because its booking pages didn't load for us. Walking distances run from Pier 60 to each dock, using OpenStreetMap geocodes and the OSRM foot-routing engine. Price per hour is the adult fare divided by the listed duration, before tax, fees and tip.
Can you bring your own alcohol on a tiki boat?
On three of the four, yes. Cruisin' Tikis lets guests bring "drinks, alcohol and food" and supplies a big Yeti cooler with ice. Go Tiki Tours asks you to bring your own drinks and snacks and provides coolers with ice, plus water and chips. Tiki Island Cruises is stricter: a personal-size cooler and no glass bottles. Neither Cruisin' Tikis nor Go Tiki Tours says anything about glass, but cans and plastic are the safe bet on any boat.
Clearwater Tiki flips it: outside alcohol is banned because the drinks (an open bar, per its listing) are included. Non-alcoholic drinks and snacks are fine.
Two Florida laws matter here. Statute 562.111 makes it unlawful for anyone under 21 to possess alcohol. Clearwater Tiki checks every participant's driver's license and reminds guests they must be 21 to drink. Statute 327.35 (boating under the influence) applies to whoever operates the vessel, at a 0.08 blood-alcohol level or when normal faculties are impaired. On a tiki cruise that's the hired captain, not you. Once you're back on the sand, different rules apply; see our guide to alcohol rules on Clearwater Beach.
Clearwater Tiki requires a driver's license for every participant at check-in. Go Tiki Tours' cancellation policy lists arriving under the influence, arriving late and not carrying a valid government-issued photo ID among the reasons you lose your money with no refund. Cruisin' Tikis says it won't refund cancellations caused by behavior.
Is a private tiki boat cheaper than buying seats?
At Cruisin' Tikis, yes, once you have six people. Each boat holds six guests, so a private charter is really just buying the whole boat. Using the October 2026 booking-page prices:
| Cruisin' Tikis trip | 6 shared seats | Private boat (up to 6) | Private, per person if full |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day cruise, 90 min | $299.70 | $299 | $49.83 |
| Sandbar and swim, 90 min | $329.70 | $299 | $49.83 |
| Sunset, 2 hr | $419.70 | $399 | $66.50 |
| Two-island sandbar, 3 hr | Not sold by the seat | $595 | $99.17 |
With five people, shared seats still win: $249.75 for the day cruise against $299 private. At six, book private: the price is the same or lower, nobody else is aboard, and on the sandbar trip it's $30.70 cheaper. Every private Cruisin' Tikis option works out to about $33 per person per hour when all six seats are filled. As of October 2026 the site also advertises 20% off on weekdays with the code Weekday20.
Go Tiki Tours lists the same $59 adult rate for private and public tours. Groups over six, though, also hire and pay a captain separately, picked from a list the company sends after you book. Get that captain's rate before comparing totals. Clearwater Tiki and Tiki Island Cruises quote private charters on request.
Budget for a tip too. Cruisin' Tikis says its captains work for tips and suggests 20%, and Clearwater Tiki says gratuity is appreciated.
Which tiki boats stop at a sandbar to swim?
If swimming matters, book a trip that promises it. Cruisin' Tikis' Island Sandbar and Swim cruise (90 minutes, $54.95) heads to a local sandbar such as Bird Island, where the captain drops anchor and a swim ladder. Its private 3-hour trip covers two sandbars, with One Tree Island named as one option. Go Tiki Tours lists sandbar stops for swimming on its 2-hour tours. Tiki Island Cruises says you may get a surprise stop at a small barrier island, weather permitting, so treat that as a bonus. Clearwater Tiki doesn't describe a swim stop.
How much sandbar you get depends on the tide. A low or falling tide exposes more sand, and our Clearwater Beach tide guide has a calendar of the best daylight low tides. Go Tiki Tours tells guests to bring towels, swimsuits and sunscreen. Cruisin' Tikis' boats cruise at around 5 mph, so on a 90-minute trip the sandbar stop eats a real share of the time. If dolphins come close while you're in the water, read up on the rules for swimming near wild dolphins first.
Tiki boat, pontoon rental or dolphin cruise: which fits?
A tiki boat is a slow party with a captain. If that isn't quite what you're after:
| Option | Who drives | Drinks | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tiki boat | Licensed captain | BYOB or included, depending on operator | Small groups who want to drink, swim and cruise without driving |
| Pontoon rental | Someone in your group | The driver can't be impaired (Florida's BUI law) | Half or full days, your own route, farther islands |
| Dolphin cruise | Captain, on a bigger boat | Varies by operator | Families focused on wildlife and narration |
| Sunset cruise | Captain | Bar or dinner service on some boats | Couples and mixed-age groups who want a bigger, steadier boat |
Most tiki boats are small. Cruisin' Tikis describes its octagon-shaped boats as putting you about two feet from the water and says dolphin pods sometimes circle them. Tiki Island Cruises says its vessel is only accessible by stairs, so call 727-462-2628 first if anyone in your group uses a wheelchair.
Groups who'd rather stay ashore can get the same vibe at the tiki bars right on the sand.
What happens if it rains or you need to cancel?
All four leave the weather call to the captain. Cruisin' Tikis says it sails in the rain because its boats have roofs, and Clearwater Tiki says it runs rain or shine. Both name high wind and thunderstorms as the usual reasons to cancel. For weather, Cruisin' Tikis may wait out a brief shower, move you to another day of your stay, or refund you if it can't reschedule. Clearwater Tiki lets you choose between a refund and a rain check. Go Tiki Tours offers a rain check or refund when it cancels. Tiki Island Cruises runs weather permitting at the captain's discretion.
Cancelling on your end is a different story:
- Go Tiki Tours: full refund 72 hours ahead. After that, and for any same-day booking, no refund. It also won't reduce your headcount inside 72 hours, so book only the people who are sure to come and add the rest later.
- Cruisin' Tikis: full refund 48 hours ahead. No-shows lose the fare.
- Clearwater Tiki: refund with 48 hours' notice. No-shows aren't refunded or rescheduled, and the captain alone decides weather cancellations.
- Tiki Island Cruises: fares are non-refundable. You can reschedule a regular cruise with at least 24 hours' notice. Miss the boat and you lose the fare.
A note on forecasts: Clearwater Tiki's FAQ points out that a 30% to 50% rain chance is normal on a Florida summer day and usually means storms somewhere in the region, mostly inland in the late afternoon. Our summer guide shows when summer storms usually roll in, which helps when picking a departure time. Let the operator make the call before you cancel and lose your money.
What should you know before you get to the dock?
- Arrive early. Clearwater Tiki wants you there 30 minutes ahead. Cruisin' Tikis' website says 15 minutes, but its booking pages say 30. Plan on 30.
- Sign the waiver. Clearwater Tiki requires every participant to sign an online waiver, Cruisin' Tikis asks everyone to sign its pre-tour waiver, and Go Tiki Tours posts a waiver form on its site.
- Plan for parking. As of October 2026, Starlite Cruises warns that the marina is under construction and parking there is "extremely limited." Leave extra time, or walk over if you're staying on the beach. Our Clearwater Beach Marina guide covers the docks and nearby lots, and our parking guide lists garages and lots within walking distance of the marina.
- No pets or smoking. Clearwater Tiki allows registered service dogs only. Clearwater Tiki and Tiki Island Cruises ban smoking and vaping.
Building a group weekend around a tiki cruise? Our Clearwater Beach bachelorette party guide covers the rest of the weekend.
Everything here comes from the four operators' own websites, FAQs and online booking pages, the Florida Statutes and the U.S. Code, all checked October 5, 2026. We didn't ride, book or call any of these boats, so capacity, restroom and drink rules are the operators' own claims. Prices change by date and season, so confirm on the booking page before you pay. We're an independent guide. No operator named here pays us, and we earn nothing if you book.
Frequently asked questions
Can you drink on a tiki boat in Clearwater?
Yes, if you're 21 or older. Cruisin' Tikis, Go Tiki Tours and Tiki Island Cruises are BYOB. Clearwater Tiki includes drinks and bans outside alcohol.
Do Clearwater tiki boats have bathrooms?
Only one says it does: Go Tiki Tours, which departs from 455 E. Shore Dr. Cruisin' Tikis and Clearwater Tiki say their boats have no restroom and point you to the marina restrooms. Tiki Island Cruises doesn't say either way, so call 727-462-2628 if it matters.
How many people fit on a tiki boat?
Six on a Cruisin' Tikis boat (groups up to 24 go on several boats) and on Go Tiki Tours' public tours. Go Tiki Tours' FAQ puts its boat's maximum at 13, and you can reserve the whole boat. Clearwater Tiki books up to 16, and Tiki Island Cruises carries the most.
Can kids go on a tiki boat cruise?
On some. Tiki Island Cruises takes all ages ($19.50 for 12 and under). Cruisin' Tikis requires age 6 and up and recommends a private boat for kids under 12. Go Tiki Tours charges $49 for 12 and under. Clearwater Tiki's listing says 21+, though its day-tour booking page also sells youth and child tickets.
How much does a tiki boat cost in Clearwater?
As of October 2026, from $24.50 a person (Tiki Island Cruises) to $69.95 a person for Cruisin' Tikis' 2-hour sunset trip. A private Cruisin' Tikis boat for up to six costs $299 for 90 minutes, $399 at sunset and $595 for three hours. Tax, fees and tip are extra.
Why are most tiki boats limited to six passengers?
Under federal law, an "uninspected passenger vessel" under 100 gross tons can carry no more than six passengers, at least one of them paying (46 U.S.C. 2101). Cruisin' Tikis cites Coast Guard rules for its six-person limit, children included. Clearwater Tiki calls its boat the only Coast Guard inspected tiki boat in Clearwater. Inspected vessels aren't bound by that six-passenger cap, and Clearwater Tiki books up to 16 per trip.
Sources
- Cruisin' Tikis Clearwater, home page, FAQ and cruise list (location, capacity, ages, restrooms, BYOB, cancellation, tipping), accessed October 5, 2026. cruisintikis.com
- Cruisin' Tikis Clearwater, all cruises and online booking pages (per-person and private prices, sample dates October 14 and 17 and November 14, 2026). cruisintikis.com
- Go Tiki Tours, Clearwater page (address, prices, schedule, capacity, bathroom, what to bring). gotikitours.com
- Go Tiki Tours, FAQs (capacity, BYOB, weather and cancellation policy). gotikitours.com
- Clearwater Tiki, home page FAQ and online booking pages (location, open bar, ID check, restroom, prices, cancellation). clearwatertiki.com
- Starlite Cruises, Tiki Island Cruises: Tiki Getaway BYOB (prices, ages, cooler and glass rules, check-in, cancellations). starlitecruises.com
- Starlite Cruises, Tiki Island Cruises overview (dock, capacity) and Parking and Directions (marina construction notice). starlitecruises.com
- Florida Statutes 562.111, possession of alcoholic beverages by persons under age 21. leg.state.fl.us
- Florida Statutes 327.35, boating under the influence. leg.state.fl.us
- 46 U.S. Code 2101, definitions of passenger for hire and uninspected passenger vessel. govinfo.gov
- Departure times: FareHarbor public availability calendars for Cruisin' Tikis, Clearwater Tiki and Tiki Island Cruises, October 5 to November 30, 2026, retrieved October 5, 2026.
- Walking distances: OpenStreetMap Nominatim geocodes and FOSSGIS OSRM foot routing, October 2026. Estimates only.
Planning a day on the water?
Line up your tiki boat with the sunset, then compare it against the other boats leaving the same marina.
Plan your visit